skip to Main Content

EM Section Links to Resources


Contacts – Planning & Preparedness Contacts (

Website CalOES –

Planning and Preparedness – Planning & Preparedness (




Within Cal OES, the Recovery Section is responsible for managing disaster recovery and providing assistance to local governments and individuals impacted by disasters.


Local Emergency Operations Plans:

The following links to County plans are provided as a resource to Operational Areas when developing/updating their emergency operations plans.

Coastal Region

San Francisco City/County Emergency Response Plan:

Santa Clara County Emergency Operations Plan:

Solano County Emergency Operations Plan:

Inland Region

Sacramento County Emergency Operations Plan:

San Joaquin County Emergency Operations Plan:

Trinity County Emergency Operations Plan:

Southern Region

San Bernardino County Emergency Operations Plan:

San Diego County Emergency Operations Plan:

Inyo County Emergency Operations Plan:


Emergency Management Accreditation Program

Planning & Preparedness Emergency Management Accreditation Program (

​What is EMAP?

The Emergency Management Accreditation Program (EMAP) is an independent non-profit organization, fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs, by establishing credible standards applied in a peer review accreditation process. The EMAP standards, assessment, and accreditation process fosters excellence and accountability in emergency management and homeland security programs by establishing credible standard applied in a peer review accreditation process. EMAP also provides emergency management programs the opportunity to be recognized for compliance with industry standards and to demonstrate accountability in emergency management. The EMAP Accreditation is a 5 year accreditation.

​California’s EMAP Accreditation

California retained its national accreditation status from the Emergency Management Accreditation Program following a rigorous review that found the program met all 64 required national standards. The week-long review of California’s program was conducted in January 2017.

Cal OES continuously reviews and updates its documentation to current EMAP Standards. Cal OES reaccreditation is scheduled for 2022.

The Emergency Management Standard covers:

  • Program Management, Administration and Finance, and Laws and Authorities
  • Hazard Identification, Risk Assessment and Consequence Analysis
  • Hazard Mitigation
  • Prevention
  • Operational Planning and Procedures
  • Incident Management
  • ​Resource Management, Mutual Aid and Logistics
  • Communications and Warning
  • Facilities
  • Training
  • Exercises, Evaluations and Corrective Action
  • Emergency Public Education and Information

Plans and Publications

State of California Emergency Plan

CA-Emergency Support Functions Annexes

California Catastrophic Plans

–2008 Catastrophic Incident Base Plan
–2018 Northern CA Catastrophic Flood Response Plan
–2016 Bay Area Earthquake Plan
–2013 Cascadia Subduction Zone Earthquake and Tsunami Response Plan
–2010 Southern CA Catastrophic Earthquake Response Plan

Continuity Planning

Standardized Emergency Management System (SEMS) Guidelines

Emergency Operations Plan Crosswalk – Local Government

Emergency Operations Plan Crosswalk – State Agencies

Electric Power Disruption Toolkit for Local Government (January 2020)

Emergency Drinking Water Procurement Distribution Guidance (2014)

Contingency Plan for Excessive Heat Emergencies (2014)

Contingency Plan for Extreme Cold/Freeze Emergencies (2013)

CA Master Mutual Aid Agreement

CA Statewide Multi-Agency Coordination System Guide (CSMACS) (2013)

State of California Alert and Warning Guidelines (2019)